Kickstarter Project – ‘The Drum Thing’ feat. Russell Simins

“The Drum Thing will be a culmination of three years of research, production, shooting and editing. Each drummer’s photograph in the book will be accompanied by an interview. This book will appeal not only to music lovers but to people who love pop culture, photography and music history. I will be collaborating with the best editors and designers. The printing and reproduction will be of the highest standard. To date, I have funded the entire project and I need to ensure that the end result is not compromised. For these reasons I have decided to independently publish this book.”

Visit for details on The Drum Thing book which features Russell Simins amongst many others.


See below for the full list of drummers involved:

Roy Haynes (John Coltrane, Charlie Parker)

John Densmore (The Doors)

Clyde Stubblefield (James Brown)

Roger Hawkins (Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section)

Neil Peart (Rush)

Dave Grohl (Nirvana,Them Crooked Vultures)

Airto Moreira (Weather Report, Miles Davis)

Jack White (The Dead Weather)

Bill Bruford (Yes, King Crimson)

Questlove (The Roots)

Jim Sclavunos (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Grinderman)

Terry Bozzio (Frank Zappa)

Jim Keltner ( Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell)

Jabo Starks (James Brown)

Jack DeJohnette (Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis)

Milford Graves (John Zorn)

Steve Gadd (Legendary Session Drummer)

Lenny White (Chick Corea)

Earl Young (The Trammps)

Steven Drozd (The Flaming Lips)

Zach Hill (Death Grips, Hella)

Stephen Morris (Joy Division, New Order)

PLUS . . .

Jaki Liebezeit (Can)

Russell Simins (Jon Spencer Blues Explosion)

Cindy Blackman (Lenny Kravitz, Santana)

John Stanier (Battles, Helmet)

John French (Captain Beefheart)

James Gadson (Legendary Session Drummer)

George Hurley (The Minutemen)

Jon Theodore (Queens of the Stoneage)

Leroy “Hoursemouth” Wallace (Burning Spear)

Josh Freese (Nine Inch Nails)

Stewart Copeland (The Police)

Dale Crover (The Melvins)

Hal Blaine (The Wrecking Crew)

Mike D (Beastie Boys)

Matt Helders ( Artic Monkeys)

Hannah Blilie (The Gossip)

Travis Barker (Blink 182)

Stephen Perkins (Janes Addiction)

Claude Coleman (Ween)

Carla Azar (Jack White, Autolux)

Joey Waronker (Atoms for Peace, Beck)

Sly Dunbar (Sly & Robbie)

Matt Cameron (Soundgarden , Pearl Jam)

Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers)

Jody Stephens (Big Star)

Greg Errico (Sly & the Family Stone)

Larry Mullen (U2)

Topper Headon (The Clash)

Kenney Jones (Small Faces)

Tony Allen (Fela Kuti)

Leah Shapiro (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)

Brad Wilk (Rage Against The Machine)

Greg Saunier (Deerhoof)

Sheila E (Prince)

Patrick Carney (The Black Keys)

Joey Jordison (Slipknot)

Ginger Baker (Cream)

Yoshimi P-We (The Boredoms)

Herlin Riley (Dr John)

Phil Selway (Radiohead)


Dave Lombardo (Slayer)

Dennis Thompson (MC5)

Scott Asheton (The Stooges)

Idris Muhammad

& Animal (The Muppets)

This entry was posted in Russell Simins. Bookmark the permalink.