Cat Power – Jukebox (CD, UK)

21 January 2008 Matador Records OLE-754-2
01. New York
02. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
03. Metal Heart
04. Silver Stallion
05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
06. Lost Someone
07. Lord, Help The Poor & Needy
08. I Believe In You
09. Song To Bobby
10. Don’t Explain
11. Woman Left Lonely
12. Blue
13. Breathless
Regular UK CD editon in regular album case, with clear tray and insert advertising previous Cat Power albums.

Judah Bauer plays guitar on this album, Dark End of the Street and the 2012 LP Sun and played in the live band (known as ‘Dirty Delta Blues’).

Promotional-only CDs have been issued for the following Cat Power songs: Aretha, Sing One For Me, Song to Bobby, New York, Ruin and Cherokee.

15th April 2008:

There was a news story about a mistake with the song credit for Lord Help The Poor & Needy. The sleeve although acknowledges Jessie Mae Hemphill credits it as ‘traditional’ even though the song is actually copyrighted to her with “Broadcast Music, Inc. and the United States Copyright Office”. This story was reported in detail on both and

“We fixed the error within a week of being made aware of it, and before any royalties were due. The Matador production head compiled the songwriting and publishing credits on behalf of Chan, and she had absolutely nothing to do with the incorrect credit. We are longtime fans of Jessie Mae Hemphill– hence her being mentioned in the credit for a song we believed was public domain– and are in fact thrilled that her estate will receive royalties for Chan’s interpretation of this song. The SF Weekly article, unfortunately, contains both misleading and inaccurate information that we hope will be retracted.”

– Matador Statement (from

“The money from that song should go to Jessie’s estate and be divided up among her relatives, who, much like Jessie, are poor, elderly black people, many of whom are living off welfare,” Mathus said. “This isn’t anything new. It’s unfortunate that most of the originators of blues music died in poverty because of situations similar to this.”

– Jessie Mae Hemphill Estate (from


The album was due to be titled ‘Covers II’. The previously announced tracklisting included ‘Fortunate Son’ and ‘Dark End of the Street’ which were later replaced with ‘Blue’ and ‘Lord, Help The Poor and Needy’.

The previously announced track listing/running-order was as follows:

01. Theme From ‘New York, New York’
02. Metal Heart
03. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
04. Song To Bobby
05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
06. Lost Someone
07. I Believe In You
08. Fortunate Son
09. Silver Stallion
10. Dark End of the Street
11. Don’t Explain
12. Woman Left Lonely

Blog entry regarding the recording of the album: “Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues have recorded a new Lp for Matador records , “Covers two” , should be released in September ! We recorded the first half @ The Hit Factory Miami (where; James Brown , Derek & The Dominoes , John Lee Hooker , Fleetwood Mac , Aretha Franklin , The Rolling Stones and Dylan recorded) , then went on our european outing . The Second half was recorded in Brooklyn @ the Rare Book Room with Nicolas Vernhes . We covered a range of things from Kitty Wells to Nick Cave , so the record sounds very diverse . The sound also shows Chan going back to her rawer side . So “covers two” , (even though recorded by “the greatest” engineer Stuart Sikes) sounds nowhere near as slick and polished as “the Greatest” . The Cat Power fans seem to generally dig the new sound , which owes more to the 60’s Bob Dylan “Band” sound or even the Velvet Underground , as opposed to the smooth soul grooves of “The Memphis Rhythym Band” . Some of the fans do however miss the solo stuff , of which this record and tour provides . Chan’s is on a road that is much more solid and secure , and with “Dirty Delta Blues” , it seems like the compromise , (between dark and light) is a good one . Rx” –

Performers on this album:

Chan Marshall

Dirty Delta Blues:
Guitar: Judah Bauer
Piano/Organ: Gregg Foreman
Bass: Erik Paparazzi
Drums: Jim White

Special Guests:
Piano/Organ: Spooner Oldham
Guitar: Teenie Hodges
Percussion: Larry McDonald
Viola: Dylan Willemsa
Guitar: Matt Sweeney

Recorded by Stuart Sykes
Hit Factory – Miami
Rare Book Room – Brooklyn
Sikes Studio – Dallas

01. New York
Theme From ‘New York, New York’
Writers: Fred Ebb/John Kander
Published: EMI Unart Catalog, Inc. (BMI)

02. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
Writer: Hank Williams
Published: SONY/ATV Acuff Rose Music (BMI)

03. Metal Heart
Writer: Chan Marshall
Published: Dormat Music/Mattitude Music (BMI)

04. Silver Stallion
Writer: Lee Clayton
Published: Resaca Music Publishing Co. (BMI)

05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
Writer: J Harris/Eugene William
Published: Happy Hooker Music/Irving Music (BMI)

06. Lost Someone
Writers: James Brown/Bobby Byrd/Lloyd Stallworth
Published: Jadar Music Corp. (BMI)

07. Lord, Help The Poor And Needy
Writers: Jessie Mae Hemphill
Arranged: Chan Marshall
Published: Broadcast Music, Inc.

08. I Believe In You
Writer: Bob Dylan
Published: Special Rider Music (SESAC)

09. Song To Bobby
Writer: Chan Marshall
Published: Mattitude Music (BMI)

10. Don’t Explain
Writers: Arthur Herzog, Jr./Billie Holiday
Published: Songs Of Universal, Inc. (BMI)

11. Woman Left Lonely
Writers: Spooner Oldham/Dan Penn
Published: Embassy Music Corp./Dan Penn Music (BMI)

12. Blue
Writer: Joni Mitchell
Published: Joni Mitchell Publishing Corp./Sony ATV Tunes, LLC (ASCAP)

13. Breathless
Writer Nick Cave
Published: Mute Song Ltd.

(c)(p) 2008 Matador Records Ltd.
All Rights Reserved All Wrongs Reversed

Cover Photos: Mark Segal

BARCODE: 7 44861 07942 2

MATRIX: “52510551/OLE794-2 21”