V/A feat. Cibo Matto – Free Tibet (VIDEO, US)

3 August 1999 Palm Pictures MVP-823
01. Opening Credits
02. Tibetan Culture
03. Save A Nation
04. Ongoing Torture
05. Foo Fighters
06. De La Soul
07. Fugees
08. Beastie Boys
09. John Lee Hooker
10. Cibo Matto – Birthday Cake
11. Pavement
12. The Smashing Pumpkins
13. Biz Markie
14. Sonic Youth
15. A Tribe Called Quest
16. Rage Against The Machine
17. Bjork
18. Signal of Gratitude
V/A feat. Cibo Matto - Free Tibet (VIDEO, US) - Cover
Original video cassette release of feature length documentary issued in card sleeve, later issued on DVD.

The documentary features footage from the June 1996 concert. Russell Simins is featured on the cover and appears in the movie. First very briefly (3m 12s), later performing Birthday Cake with Cibo Matto (46m 12s) and a third time back stage with Sean Lennon (58m 57s).

Cibo Matto released Birthday Cake as a 7″ and CD single.

Although The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion are not featured on this video the band did perform at the 1997 concert and were included on the Tibetan Freedom Concert album along with Cibo Matto.

Beck – One Foot In The Grave
courtesy of Geffen/DGC Records
Writer: Beck Hansen
Courtesy of BMG Music Publishing

Foo Fighters – This Is A Call
courtesy of Capitol Records
Writer: Dave Grohl
courtesy of M.J. Twelve/EMI Virgin Songs

Buddy Guy – Damn Right I’ve Got The Blues
courtesy of Silvertone Records
Writer: Buddy GUy
courtesy of Mic-Shau/Zomba Enterpirses Inc.

John Lee Hooker – Crawlin’ Kingsnake
courtesy of Pointblank/Virgin Records
Writer: J.L. Hooker and B. Besman
courtesy of La Cienega Music Co.

De La Soul – Diggin’ The Sound
featuring the song ‘Breakadawn’ by De La Souol
Writers: K. Mercer, D. Jolicouer, V. Mason, P. Houston, S. Wonder, S. Green, W. Robinson, R. Jones
contains replayed samples from ‘I Can’t Help It’
written by S. Wonder, S. Green
courtesy of Jobete Music co., Black Bull Music, Stone Diamond Music Corp.
and ‘Quiet Storm’
written by W. Robinson courtesy of Jobete Music Co.
and ‘Song And Dance’
Written by R. Jones
published by Tee Girl Music/Daisy Age/Prinse Paul Music
administered by MCA Music

Fugees – Fu-Gee-La
courtesy of Columbia/Ruff House Records
Writers: R. S. Gibbs, T. Marie, A. McGrier, S. Michel, L. Hill, N. Jean
courtesy of Sony ATV Tunes
contains a replayed sample from
‘Ohh La La La’
written by T. Marie, A McGrier
courtesy of McNella Music/Midnight Music/EMI April Music

Beastie Boys – Sabotage
courtesy of Grand Royal/Capitol Records
Writers: Beastie Boys
courtesy of Brooklyn Dust Music, Polygram Publishing

Cibo Matto – Birthday Cake
courtesy of Warner Brothers Records
Writers: M. Hatori, Y. Honda
courtesy of Cibo Matto/Soul Urchin Music

Smashing Pumpkins – BUllet With Butterfly Wings
courtesy of Virgin Records
Writer: B. Corgan
courtesy of Cinderful Music/Chrysalis Songs

Pavement – No More Kings
courtesy of Matador Records
Writer: K. Ahrent
courtesy of American Broadcasting Music

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Give It Away
courtesy of Warner Brothers Records
Writers: A. Kiedis, M. Balzay, C. Smith
courtesy of Moebetoblame/EMI Blackwood Music

Biz Markie – Go Biz Mark
courtesy of Biz Markie

The Skatelites – The Guns Of Navarone
courtesy of Shanachie Records
Writers: Dimitri Tiomkin and Paul Francis Webster
courtesy of Shapiro, Bernstein, & Co.

Beck – Asshole
courtesy of Geffen/DGC Records
Writer: Beck Hansen
courtesy of BMG Music Publishing

Tribe Called Quest – Check The Rhime
courtesy of Jive Records
Writers: K. Fareed, A. Muhammad, M. Taylor
courtesy of Zomba Enterprises Inc./Jazz Merchant Music/Zomba Enterprises
featuring samples from ‘Love Your Life’
written by H. Steward, A. Garrie, O. McIntyre, S. Ferrone, M. Duncan, R. Ball
courtesy of Joe’s Songs/Fran Am Publishing
and ‘This Love I Have’
Written by R. Rudolph, M. Ripperton and L. Ware
courtesy of Embassy Music Corp.

Lou Reed – Walk On The Wild Side
courtesy of Screen Gems-EMI Music
as featured in ‘Can I Kick It?’
performed by A Tribe Called Quest
courtesy of Jive Records
written by K. Fareed, A. Muhammad, M. Taylor

Rage Against The Machine – Bulls On Parade
courtesy of Epic Records
Writers: Rage Against The Machine
courtesy of Sony/ATV Publishing

Bjork – Hyper-ballad
courtesy of Elektra Records
by arrangement with Warner Special Products
and One Little Indian Records
Writers: B. Gudmundsdttir, G. Massy
courtesy of Famous Music

Sonic Youth – Bull In The Heather
courtesy of Geffen/DGC Records
Writers: K. Gordon, T. Moore, L. Renaldo, S. Shelley
courtesy of
Sonik Tooth/Zomba Enterprises Inc.

Smashing Pumpkins – Silverfuck
courtesy of Virgin Records
Writer: B. Corgan
courtesy of Cinderful Music/Chrysalis Songs

nb. view DVD Entry for further credits and information.

Director: Sarah Pirozek
Creative Director: Nathaniel Hornblower
Supervising Editor: Paula Hereida Suarez
Creative Consultant: Paula Hereida Suarez
Editor: Robert Nassau
Supervising Producer: Maria Ma
Executive Producers: Jay Faires and Adam Yauch
Co-Executive Producer: John Sloss
Chief Purser: Andrew Bryson
Associate Producers: Christopher Covert and Laura Poitras
Supervising Sound Editor: Stuart Stanley
Music Editor: Jacob Ribicoff
Re-recording Mixer: Mel Zelniker
San Francisco: Cinematography
Lance Accord, Art Adams, Cyrus Amini, Morgan Barnard, Evan Barnard, Roman Coppola, Tashi Dhondup, Jonathan Hoare, Tracy Hoare, Jarid Johnson, Spike Jonze, Kurt Wolf Langer, Ed McGinty, Tom Piozet, Ricky Powell.
A Dame Work Production, Production Manager: John Hancock
San Francisco: Field Producer: Steve Paine
Sound Recording: Michelle Delorimier, Jay Farrington, Anton Herbert, Sue Piozet, Doug Sjostrom
1st Assistant Camera: Bruce Miller
2nd Assistant Camera: Katherine Kim and John Turk
Production Assistants: Heather Benson, Sean Lawhon, Sienna McLean, Elizabeth Ross, Robert Tachoires, Hughie Thompson
Production Coordinator: Kurt Wolf Langer
Still Photography: Danny Clinch, Jonathan Hoare, Stephane Sednaoui, Pete Spear, Aaron Terry

New York
Producer: Elizabeth Spinza
Cinematography: Peter Agliata, Sarah Pirozek, Paula Heredia
Art Director: Hillary Snyder
Sound Recording: Calib Heineman
On-Line Editors: Brad Rothberg and Peter Heady
Title Designer: Julie Hirschfeld
1st Assistant Camera: Arthur Ellis
Production Assistants: Rolando Colon and Tim Sheehy
Assistant Editors: Laura Poitras and Adriana Pacheco
Assistant Sound Editors: Missy Cohen and V. Renee Taylor
Assistant On-Line Editors: Rich Abraham and George Bunce
Assistant Negative Matching: Caroline Rabinovitch
Assistant to the Director: Hang Pham
Post-Production Supervision: Mamboreta, Inc.
Negative Matching: Noelle Penraat, Inc.
Mixing Facilities: Sound One
On-Line Facilities: LRP, The Tape House
Dolby Surround

India & Nepal
Segment Director & Camera: Morgan Harris
Peon: Erin Potts
Universal Leader: Sma Chapin
Fencing Coach: Sir Stewart Wallace

Producer & Organizer: Milarepa Fund
Live Producers: Gregg W. Perloff, Peter Barsotti, Lee A. Smith, Bill Graham Presents. City Liason: Bob Barsotti
Pagent King: Robert Bennett
Production Manager: Jeff Mason
Legal Clearances: Ken Anderson, Esq. and Ken Florin, Esq.
Music Clearances: Christopher Covert

ARTWORK: [unknown]

BARCODE: 7 85855 08233 2