V/A feat. The Rolling Thunder Reborn Band – Dylan Goes Twang (DOWNLOAD, US)

6 March 2008 When You Awake n/a
01. Johnny Cash – It Ain’t Me Babe
02. Glen Campbell – I Don’t Believe You
03. Waylon Jennings – Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright
04. My Morning Jacket – Man In Me
05. New Riders of The Purple Sage – Farewell, Angelina
06. Leon Russell – A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
07. Neil Young – Everything Is Broken
08. The Byrds – He Was A Friend of Mine
09. The Rolling Thunder Reborn Band
– You Ain’t Goin Nowhere

10. Jeff Buckley – I Shall Be Released
V/A feat. The Rolling Thunder Reborn Band -  Dylan Goes Twang (DOWNLOAD, US)
This is an unofficial download-only compilation of people covering Bob Dylan created by the blog When You Awake. Russell Simins is featured as part of the The Rolling Thunder Reborn Band with members of the Pierces, Albert Hammond Jr’s Band and The Morning Pages performing You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere live at Bob Dylans Birthday Concert.

This recording has not been commercially released.

An excerpt from the Rolling Stone review:

“Tomorrow, on May 24th, Bob Dylan turns sixty-six. As his birthday approached, we decided to raise the stakes: Bigger venue, bigger crowd, more rehearsals, more talent. Actual musicians like guitarist Marc Eskenazi and drummer Matt Romano, who play in Albert Hammond Jr.’s band came on board, along with Sammy James, Jr., and Reno Bo from the Mooney Suzuki. Monumentally talented singer/violinist Tracy Bonham stepped in to cover parts on Desire songs like “Hurricane” and “Isis”. Singer-songwriter David Mead agreed to do “Rainy Day Women”. We got the hottest gals in NYC, The Pierces, to sing a handful of tunes. Grant Maxwell from the Morning Pages said he would sing “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” and “If You Gotta Go”. And holding it down behind the drums would be the thunderous Russell Simmons of the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion. Rounding out the band was Alex Levy, Evan Schlansky, Kevin Blackler, Harper Simon and Josh Lattanzi. Collectively, we were the Rolling Thunder Reborn Band. Praise Bob!” – Rolling Stone.com

Photo: Elliott Landy

BARCODE: [unknown]


Comments are closed.