Cat Power – Jukebox [Yellow] [Promo] (CD, US)

22 January 2008 Matador Records OLE-793-2V
01. New York
02. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
03. Metal Heart
04. Silver Stallion
05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
06. Lost Someone
07. Lord, Help The Poor & Needy
08. I Believe In You
09. Song To Bobby
10. Don’t Explain
11. Woman Left Lonely
12. Blue
Cat Power - Jukebox [Yellow] [Promo] (CD, US) - Rear
12 track promo CD edition in regular album case with rear artwork only.

Matador issued two different versions one with a red disc and the yellow one shown here.

This album was released on double Vinyl, 120g vinyl, CD, Deluxe CD and download.

Judah Bauer plays guitar on this album, Dark End of the Street and the 2012 LP Sun and played in the live band (known as ‘Dirty Delta Blues’).

Promotional-only CDs have been issued for the following Cat Power songs: Aretha, Sing One For Me, Song to Bobby, New York, Ruin and Cherokee.

UPDATE [15th April 2008]:

There was a news story about a mistake with the song credit for Lord Help The Poor & Needy. The sleeve although acknowledges Jessie Mae Hemphill credits it as ‘traditional’ even though the song is actually copyrighted to her with “Broadcast Music, Inc. and the United States Copyright Office”. This story was reported in detail on both and

“We fixed the error within a week of being made aware of it, and before any royalties were due. The Matador production head compiled the songwriting and publishing credits on behalf of Chan, and she had absolutely nothing to do with the incorrect credit. We are longtime fans of Jessie Mae Hemphill– hence her being mentioned in the credit for a song we believed was public domain– and are in fact thrilled that her estate will receive royalties for Chan’s interpretation of this song. The SF Weekly article, unfortunately, contains both misleading and inaccurate information that we hope will be retracted.”

– Matador Statement (from

“The money from that song should go to Jessie’s estate and be divided up among her relatives, who, much like Jessie, are poor, elderly black people, many of whom are living off welfare,” Mathus said. “This isn’t anything new. It’s unfortunate that most of the originators of blues music died in poverty because of situations similar to this.”

– Jessie Mae Hemphill Estate (from


The album was due to be titled ‘Covers II’. The previously announced tracklisting included ‘Fortunate Son’ and ‘Dark End of the Street’ which were later replaced with ‘Blue’ and ‘Lord, Help The Poor and Needy’.

The previously announced track listing/running-order was as follows:

01. Theme From ‘New York, New York’
02. Metal Heart
03. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
04. Song To Bobby
05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
06. Lost Someone
07. I Believe In You
08. Fortunate Son
09. Silver Stallion
10. Dark End of the Street
11. Don’t Explain
12. Woman Left Lonely

Blog entry regarding the recording of the album: “Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues have recorded a new Lp for Matador records , “Covers two” , should be released in September ! We recorded the first half @ The Hit Factory Miami (where; James Brown , Derek & The Dominoes , John Lee Hooker , Fleetwood Mac , Aretha Franklin , The Rolling Stones and Dylan recorded) , then went on our european outing . The Second half was recorded in Brooklyn @ the Rare Book Room with Nicolas Vernhes . We covered a range of things from Kitty Wells to Nick Cave , so the record sounds very diverse . The sound also shows Chan going back to her rawer side . So “covers two” , (even though recorded by “the greatest” engineer Stuart Sikes) sounds nowhere near as slick and polished as “the Greatest” . The Cat Power fans seem to generally dig the new sound , which owes more to the 60’s Bob Dylan “Band” sound or even the Velvet Underground , as opposed to the smooth soul grooves of “The Memphis Rhythym Band” . Some of the fans do however miss the solo stuff , of which this record and tour provides . Chan’s is on a road that is much more solid and secure , and with “Dirty Delta Blues” , it seems like the compromise , (between dark and light) is a good one . Rx” –

Performers on this album:

Chan Marshall

Dirty Delta Blues:
Guitar: Judah Bauer
Piano/Organ: Gregg Foreman
Bass: Erik Paparazzi
Drums: Jim White

Guests: Spooner Oldham, Larry McDonald, Teenie Hodges and Matt Sweeney.

Recorded in New York, Dallas and Miami, 2007, with the Dirty Delta Blues and Stuart Sikes.

01. New York
Theme From ‘New York, New York’
Writers: Fred Ebb/John Kander
Published: EMI Unart Catalog, Inc. (BMI)

02. Ramblin’ (Wo)man
Writer: Hank Williams
Published: SONY/ATV Acuff Rose Music (BMI)

03. Metal Heart
Writer: Chan Marshall
Published: Dormat Music/Mattitude Music (BMI)

04. Silver Stallion
Writer: Lee Clayton
Published: Resaca Music Publishing Co. (BMI)

05. Aretha, Sing One For Me
Writer: J Harris/Eugene William
Published: Happy Hooker Music/Irving Music (BMI)

06. Lost Someone
Writers: James Brown/Bobby Byrd/Lloyd Stallworth
Published: Jadar Music Corp. (BMI)

07. Lord, Help The Poor & Needy
Writers: Jessie Mae Hemphill
Arranged: Chan Marshall
Published: Broadcast Music, Inc.

08. I Believe In You
Writer: Bob Dylan
Published: Special Rider Music (SESAC)

09. Song To Bobby
Writer: Chan Marshall
Published: Mattitude Music (BMI)

10. Don’t Explain
Writers: Arthur Herzog, Jr./Billie Holiday
Published: Songs Of Universal, Inc. (BMI)

11. Woman Left Lonely
Writers: Spooner Oldham/Dan Penn
Published: Embassy Music Corp./Dan Penn Music (BMI)

12. Blue
Writer: Joni Mitchell
Published: Joni Mitchell Publishing Corp./Sony ATV Tunes, LLC (ASCAP)

(c)(p) 2008 Matador Records Ltd.
All Rights Reserved All Wrongs Reversed

“While 2000’s ‘The Covers Album’ had Chan Marshall flashing her considerable interpretive skills in homage to some genius songwriters, the new ‘Jukebox’ is a love letter to the singers. Diving headfirst into material popularized by Joni Mitchell, Frank Sinatra, Bob Dylan, Billie Holiday, Hank Williams, Janis Joplin, The Highwaymen – along with two Cat Power originals (a revamped ‘Metal Heart’, and the Dylan-inspired “Song To Bobby”), ‘Jukebox’ is a reverential, inspired take on rock, pop, country and soul history. Backed by a crack ensemble featuring Judah Bauer (The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, 20 Miles), Jim White (Dirty Three), Gregg Foreman (Delta 72) and Erik Paparazzi, along with additional contributions from Spooner Oldham, Matt Sweeney and Teenie Hodges, ‘Jukebox’ is unlike any Cat Power album to date – not a sequel to ‘The Covers Album’, but a fascinating new chapter in Chan Marshall’s artistic arc.

Initial quantities (OLE 793-2) as well as the vinyl version will include a 5 song bouns disc featuring additional covers of compositions from The Hot Boys, Moby Grape, Nick Cave, Roberta Flack and Patsy Cline”

ARTWORK: [no details]


MATRIX: [unknown]