Cibo Matto – Pretty Super Relax (7″, JAPAN)

Summer 1996 Bad News Records BNCM7 / JPREP-6
A. Sugar Water Remix
B. Águas de Março
Black vinyl 7″ single in picture sleeve with die-cut white paper inner-sleeve. The full title could be “Pretty Super Relax 96 Summer Pleasure 7 Inch Single” as this is stated on the front and rear sleeve as well as both labels.

Both tracks feature Russell Simins and appear on Viva! La Woman (CD, JAPAN), Cibo Matto – Super Relax EP and Selections From Super Relax (PROMO 12″, US).

Although only the ‘Bad News Records’ catalogue number of ‘BNCM7’ appears on the run-out groove engraving it should be noted that the rear sleeve does not feature this number. Instead the numbers ‘JPREP-6’ and ‘R-B660362’ (with the ‘Jasrac’ logo) both of which could potentially be the catalogue number of this record. ‘JPREP-6’ corrisponds to the 1996 Japanese release of Viva! La Woman as this has the catalogue number ‘JPR-6’.

The A-Side is a rendition of the Brazilian classic Águas de Março (Waters of March) which was originally recorded for the AIDS Benefit album Red Hot + Latin: Silencio = Muerte. The B-Side is the Russell Simins Remix which was also issued in the UK on Sugar Water [Promo] (12″, UK).

Lyrics for both of these songs along with the English translation of Águas de Março can be found in the lyrics section.

A. Sugar Water Remix
Writers: Yuka Honda/Miho Hatori/Ennio Morricone
Produced: Yuka Honda (as stated on rear sleeve)
(Original Song Produced: Mitchell Froom and Tchad Blake with Cibo Matto)
Contains the Following Samples: ‘Hung Up’, performed by Paul Weller, used courtesy of GO! Discs Ltd.; “Sospesi Nel Ciero”, performed by Ennio Morricone, used by courtesy of CAM/SRL Recordings.
Published: Soul Urchin Songs/Cam Cine TV Music, Inc., ASCAP
Vocals: Miho Hatori
Keyboards: Yuka Honda
Drums: Russell Simins
Remixed by Mike D., Russell Simins and Mario Caldato Jr.
Run Time: 4:35

B. Águas de Março (Waters of March)
Writer: Antonio Carlos Jobim
© 1973 Antonio Carlos Jobim
Published by Corcovado Music Corporation
Produced: Yuka Honda
Engineered: Bil Emmons
Assisted: Tom Schick
Recorded: Sear Sound, NYC
Vocals: Miho Hatori
Male Vocal: Russell Simins
Keyboards: Yuka Honda
Guitar: Marc Ribot
Bass/Backing Vocals: Sean Lennon
Drums: Dougie Bowne
Trumpet: Dave Douglas
Trombone: Curtis Fowlkes
Backing Vocals: Timo Ellis
Run Time: 3:16

Artwork: Yuka Honda
Design: Illdozer Graphuck

BARCODE: 4 511552 100064

A: “BNCM 7-A”
B: “BNCM 7 B”