The Morning Pages – Rising Rain (LP, US)

December 2009 Zealous Records ZEL 0801-1
A1. With The Lord
A2. Stumble Towards The Lights
A3. Live With You
A4. My Name Is Lion
A5. All My Friends

B1. Move To The Country
B2. Makes Me Cry
B3. Leaving On the Morning Train
B4. Out In the City
B5. Rising Rain

The Morning Pages - Rising Rain  (LP, US) - Cover
Rising Rain vinyl in a numbered edition of 100 copies with hand-written labels and inner-sleeve.

This album produced-by and features Russell Simins on percussion. Also issued on CD and Download in August 2009.

The CD and download includes the track The City Keeps Me Down which does not appear on the vinyl version.

News entry from the Zealous Records website:

“The Morning Pages head into the studio this week to work on their debut album, a follow up to their acclaimed EP The Company You Keep. The band will be working with drummer/producer Russell Simins from the John Spencer Blues Explosion. In addition to his decades with The Blues Explosion, Russell has worked with Tom Waits, Elliot Smith, Beck and recently produced works by The Tiny Masters of Today and Men Without Pants (a collaboration with Dan The Automator).”

Russell also appeared with members of The Morning Pages in The Rolling Thunder Reborn band on Dylan Goes Twang download compilation.

MORE INFO: “It began during a downtown Manhattan loft party on New Years Eve of 2008. A somewhat intoxicated Grant Maxwell, lead singer of The Morning Pages, was approached by an equally intoxicated Russell Simins, drummer for The John Spencer Blues Explosion. He had heard The Morning Pages’ EP and was impressed with the band’s unique blend of Country, Soul and Rock ‘n’ Roll. Simins and the band got to talking and eventually agreed he would produce The Morning Pages’ debut album, Rising Rain.

Simins and The Morning Pages hunkered down in Brooklyn-based studio, Cowboy Technical Services (Ryan Adams, Steve Earle), and began work on the 11 tracks that make up Rising Rain. Surrounded by walls of vintage gear and faded Al Green and Waylon Jennings album covers, the band tore through material ranging from the raucous stomp of “With The Lord,” the epic beauty of “My Name Is Lion” and the classic country-flavored duet of the title track. The Morning Pages brought in a cast of NYC’s brightest up-and-comers to help out on the record, including sister-duo The Pierces who sing harmonies on over half of the record, Simins himself on percussion, Alec Higgins (Alberta Cross) on piano, and Gillian Rivers (Nicole Atkins) on fiddle.

With prominent influences such as The Band, Waylon, Willie, and Gram Parsons, The Morning Pages, who originally hail from Nashville, Austin, Tulsa, San Francisco, Ohio, and Massachussettes, bring a deep, rural passion to the New York City scene. Alongside contemporaries like The Felice Brothers and Blitzen Trapper, the band blends the speed and sophistication of the city with the organic depth of the country. Their debut EP, The Company You Keep, released in the summer of 2007, perked the ears of critics, with The Tripwire declaring: “The sound that these guys got onto tape comes from the mighty heavens. It’s like American Beauty slept with Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris while cheating on The Band’s version of ‘I Shall Be Released.'”” –

Vocals / Acoustic Guitar: Grant Maxwell
Bass Guitar: Matt Stoulil
Electric Guitar / Lap Steel: Kevin Drost
Drums: Daniel Thiel
Piano / Electric Piano / Organ / Harmony Vocals: Alec Higgins
Harmony Vocals: Allison Pierce
Harmony Vocals: Catherine Pierce
Percussion / Harmony Vocals: Ben Arons
Percussion: Russell Simins
Violin: Gillian Rivers
Cello: Justin Kantor
Pedal Steel Guitar: Ken Drost

Produced: Russell Simins
Recorded / Mixed: Ben Arons
Recorded @ Cowboy Technical Services, Brooklyn, NY
Additional Tracking & Mixing @ Man Made Music, New York, NY
Mastering by Michael Fossenkemper @ Turtle Tone Studios

All songs by Grant Maxwell except “With The Lord” / “All My Friends” / “Leaving On The Morning Train” by Grant Maxwell and Ginny Maxwell.

(c) (p) 2009 The Morning Pages, under exclusive license to Zealous Records LLC.

“Special Thanks To:
Kenda MacDevitt, Jonathan Kemp, Rick Fox,
Jody Orsborn,, The Pierces, Vinny Rega,
Elliott Bergman & Erik Hall, Michael Phillips, Eric Ambell
& All Our Families, Close Friends, Fans, & Esteemed Musical Colleagues For Making This Record Possible”
ARTWORK: Vinny Rega

BARCODE: 6 87480 08011 3

A: “ZEL-0801-1A LEGO”
B: “ZEL-0801-1B LEGO”