The Bobby Lees – Skin Suit [Orange] (LP, US)

17 July 2020* Alive Naturalsound ALIVE0209-1
A1. Move
A2. Coin
A3. Guttermilk
A4. Riddle Daddy
A5. Redroom
A6. Ranch Baby

B1. Wendy
B2. Mary Jo
B3. Drive
B4. Russell
B5. Last Song

Orange vinyl edition of The Bobby Lees – Skin Suit album produced by Jon Spencer.

Released on CD with 2 bonus tracks, orange, blue, green and black vinyl.

*On April 21 the release was date moved from 8 May 2020 to 17 July 2020 but ended-up being sold online on 6 June 2020.

28 March 2019: “we’re very excited to announce that #jonspencer of the jon spencer blues explosion will be producing our upcoming record! we feel so grateful to be able to work with such a legendary artist on our music and share with you all what we create! we’re one week away from the end of our record fund and link is in our bio to donate! anything you can give would be a big help 🖤 we can’t wait to get recording! #thebobbylees #punk” –

21 April 2019: “Picture by producer jon #jonspencer” –

23 April 2019: “we spent the past week in the studio for 10+ hours a day. we were able to push ourselves creatively and see how much we’ve grown as a group and as our own musicians over the past year, and we did it all under the guidance of an outstanding mentor! watching #jonspencer bring our music to life was such a cool thing to witness, we feel so grateful to have had the time to work with him and learn from him. special thanks to @dreamlandrecordingstudio and @analogthunder for being our engineer, as well as everyone who donated to our fund and has continued to support us 🖤 we can’t wait for you to hear what we created! #thebobbylees”

17 August 2019: The music video for Guttermilk posted online.

6 September 2019: Guttermilk cassette released announced for 25 October 2019.

19 December 2019: “The Bobby Lees are a young bone-shaking Garage Rock band out of Woodstock NY. Their new record “Skin Suit” is produced by underground punk legend Jon Spencer of the Blues Explosion, and mixes classic garage-punk hits with raw and emotive storytelling.

In the past year they’ve played with The Chats, Future Islands, Boss Hog, Daddy Long Legs, Shannon & The Clams and Murphy’s Law. They will be on tour in the US and Europe throughout 2020.

The Bobby Lees Are The Giant Green Cyclops of Rock ‘n’ Roll. – BTRtoday


7 February 2020: Coin released as a single.

14 February 2020: Band of The Day feature on “Their sound mixes classic garage-punk hits with raw and emotive storytelling.
Audiotox UK states “Their raw and unapologetic energy promises to make you feel alive.” Listen to them and see for yourself.”

28 February 2020: Bo Diddley cover I’m A Man premiered by

“It takes a lot of balls to try and pull off a Bo Diddley cover. So it seems pretty apt that the female-fronted garage punk band The Bobby Lees not only attempt it, but do so with amazing results.”

“I’ve heard people say ‘you can’t cover Bo Diddley, you just can’t’ so I thought fuck it, let’s try,” said frontwoman Sam Quartin. “We had a lot of fun recording ‘I’m a Man.’ As far as the gender thing, when doing PR for this record, I’ve been asked what I want to be called.

“When I look at anyone else or myself, all I see is energy trapped inside a bag of flesh, so you can call me whatever you’d like! And sorry Bo Diddley, we failed but we love you.” –

25 March 2020: Big Takeover post new video for Move along with feature on the album.

The band members are in their element live on the stage, but the viewer also gets quick glimpses of life on the road, including changing a flat tire (yikes!), having fun in the hotel room, and eating out (yum!, and sadly missed now).

Quartin gives some details about the shooting of the roving video, explaining, “We shot this video on tour last month in February. We were really lucky to have a bunch of new people come out to the shows and completely lose their shit.That’s what makes a live show fun, if people can get out of themselves and not be scared to move around. That’s what this song “Move” is kind of about… among other things like being possessed.” –

21 April 2020: Release date moved from 8 May 2020 to 17 July 2020.

23 April 2020: New single and video ‘Drive’ announced for Friday 1 May 2020.

6 June 2020: Pre-Orders posted online for Orange vinyl LP and CD, due to be shipped 8 June 2020.

12 March 2022: Blue vinyl edition announced.

24 February 2023: Green vinyl edition released.

The Bobby Lees online:

Produced: Jon Spencer
Recorded / Mixed: Jon Spencer and Ariel Shafir at Dreamland, Woodstock, NY
Engineered: Ariel Shafir
Recorded & Mixed at Dreamland Recording Studios in Woodstock, NY
Mastered: Steve Fallone at Sterling Sound

Sam Quartin – Vocals / Guitar
Kendall Wind – Bass / Keys / Backing Vocals
Macky Bowman – Drums / Backing Vocals
Nick Casa – Guitar

All Songs (c) The Bobby Lees except I’m A Man and Blank Generation

01. Move
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

02. Coin
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

03. Guttermilk
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

04. Riddle Daddy
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

05. Redroom
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

06. Ranch Baby
Lyrics: Nick Casa

07. Wendy
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

08. Mary Jo
Lyrics: The Bobby Lees

09. Drive
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

10. Russell
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

11. Last Song
Lyrics: Sam Quartin

12. I’m A Man

13. Blank Generation

“The Bobby Lees would like to thank you.
Thank you for saying hi, dancing with us, supporting us, you have helped us more than you know.
You are not alone. we love you. – The Bobby Lees

Thanks dickheads – Macky”

Cover Photo: Lindi Gordon
Artwork: Alive Naturalsound Studios

BARCODE: 0 95081 02091 7


A: “ALIVE 0209-1-A JN,H STERLING 34744.1(3)..”
B: “ALIVE 0209-1-B JN,H STERLING 34744.2(3)..”