The Tremolo Beergut – Under The Influence of… [2000] (LP, DENMARK)

10 November 2000 Crunchy Frog FROG 019-1
A1. Agent Tremolo
A2. The Sleaz-e-nator
A3. Diablo Mountains Sunrise
A4. Slingshot Dragster
A5. Stoli Chaser
A6. The Last Booze Fighter
A7. J-Cat Gone Haywire
A8. St. Duane
A9. Revolvo 1974

B1. Tahonga Lounge Babe (Most Groovy)
B2. The Worm
B3. Kittyscope
B4. Theme From The Beer Hunter
B5. Timebomb
B6. The Casbah Hit (Bad Postcard From Palermo)
B7. Plutonium
B8. Diablo Mountains Sunset

The Tremolo Beergut - Under The Influence of... (LP, DENMARK) - Cover
Vinyl edition* of Under The Influence of… issued in picture sleeve with die-cut white paper inner sleeve. Features Jon Spencer on Tahonga Lounge Babe (Most Groovy) .

This track was also released on From The Vinyl Archives Of… (CD, DENMARK).

*The CD edition of this album features a version of Tahonga Lounge Babe which does not include Jon Spencer.

The Tremolo Beer Gut would record a version of the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion track She Said which was released as a b-side to the single Shakin’ Rock ‘n’ Roll Tonight and a few years later Yebo (of The Tremolo Beer Gut) was to perform in the Heavy Trash live band and appears on Going Way Out with Heavy Trash.

“Who was the first guest at the Crunchy Frog show case at CMJ ’99? Yes indeed: Jon Spencer. In the time after these meetings the bands tried hard to get to play together in Japan, but as every attempt failed The Tremolo Beer Gut ended up doing a European tour together in ’00 with Spencer’s other band, Boss Hog. Playing London, Amsterdam, Malmö, Hamburg and Berlin, the bands ended their tour by playing a version of Sonic Youth’s “Death Valley ’69” together in Berlin. The Beer Gut played the back line and the girls of Boss Hog sang, while Jon Spencer did the front of the house sound. A psychedelic experience indeed!”


Produced by The Great Nalna and The Tremolo Beer Gut.
Engineering assistance by Batti and Marco Manieri.
Recorded in Malmö at Gula, Tambourine Studios and The Eggstone Rehearsal Complex through Shure 57’s and Sennheiser 421’s during October 2000.
All songs written, arranged and executed by The Beer Gut.
All songs published by Crunchy Tunes.

A1. Agent Tremolo
Run Time: 1:30

A2. The Sleaz-e-nator
Run Time: 2:00

A3. Diablo Mountains Sunrise
Run Time: 2:58

A4. Slingshot Dragster
Run Time: 2:09

A5. Stoli Chaser
Run Time: 1:58

A6. The Last Booze Fighter
Run Time: 2:09

A7. J-Cat Gone Haywire
Run Time: 2:25

A8. St. Duane
Run Time: 2:15

A9. Revolvo 1974
Run Time: 3:36

B1. Tahonga Lounge Babe (Most Groovy)
Writers: Reginal/Spencer
Lyrics: Jon Spencer
Guest Vocal: Jon Spencer (via telephone from NYC)
Lead Guitar: The Great Nalna.
Run Time: 3:24

B1. The Worm
Run Time: 1:45

B2. Kittyscope
Run Time: 2:05

B3. Theme From The Beer Hunter
Run Time: 2:40

B4. Timebomb
Run Time: 2:38

B5. The Casbah Hit (Bad Postcard From Palermo)
Run Time: 3:42

B6. Plutonium
Run Time: 1:48

B7. Diablo Mountains Sunset
Run Time: 2:38

“Some of the tunes on this album were composed for the Howard Barker play “Animals In Paradise”.

The Tremolo Beer Gut wish to extend our most heartfelt thanks towards all our friends and families, Boss Hog, Eggstone, Anders Reuss and Pelle Halvarsson for their magnificent live theremin action, The B-team: Show, Mangan, Satan Beck, Simon & Heste for their inebriated performance at Roskilde Festival 2000, the Crunchy family, Heike and The Crilster, Fzat, Midgårds-Rud, Torbassen, KUBI and last but not least our main men Patrik Bartosch and The Great Nalna.”

Photos: Jessica Tolf Vulpius.
Artwork: Tor Slotmann and The Gut

BARCODE: 5 709498 202020

A: “FROG019 A1 MPO”
B: “FROG019 B-1 MPO”