The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Controversial Negro [Card Sleeve] (CD, JAPAN)

1 December 1997 Toy’s Factory TFCK-87126
01. Get With It
02. Can’t Stop
03. Son of Sam
04. Cool Vee
05. Afro
06. R.L. Got Soul
07. Blues X Man
08. Watermain
09. Love All of Me
10. Fuck Shit Up
11. Hot Shot
12. Skunk
13. Vacuum of Loneliness
14. Sticky
15. The Feeling of Love
16. Down Low
17. Dynamite Lover
18. Flavor
19. Full Grown
The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Controversial Negro [Card Sleeve] (CD, JAPAN) - Cover
Limited LP style gatefold card-sleeve issue of Controversial Negro which originally only saw a commercial Japanese release in 1997.

The limited version has the exact same catalogue number and barcode as the standard CD issue and was issued with an Obi strip and inserts containing the same information (red insert with sleeve notes in Japanese and a 12-page booklet containing black and white images of the band).

A 14 track version of this album was issued as a promo on CD in the UK and vinyl in the US. The last five tracks on the Japanese release were not featured on the US or UK promos but four of these were issued on the Australian Rocketship EP.

An expanded edition was reissued in 2010 which includes an additional 10 tracks.

The title for this album comes from the Public Enemy song Burn Hollywood Burn from their 1990 album Fear of a Black Planet. Towards the end of the track someone asks Flava Flav the following question:

“Now we’re considering how do you for a part in our new production, how do you feel about playing a controversial negro?”

The artwork used on the promotional version along with the title Controversial Negro was originally intended for Now I Got Worry.

Recorded live November 25, 1996 at The Hotel Congress in Tuscon, Arizona.
Mixed by Jim Waters at Waterworks West
Assisted: Saylor Breckenridge
Live sound by Peter Arsenault

All songs:
Writers: Spencer/Explosion
Published: Dirty Shirt, BMI


01. Get With It
Writers: Explosion/Feathers
Published: Dirty Shirt, BMI/C. Feathers Publishing, BMI

02. Can’t Stop
Writers: Explosion/Nishita
Published: Dirty Shirt, BMI/Fido Speaks Music, BMI

03. Son of Sam
Writers: Luanda/Gee
Published: Kapitalist Music, ASCAP

10. Fuck Shit Up
Writers: Dub Narcotic
Published: Gravedigger Blues, BMI

19. Flavor
Writers: Campbell/Spencer/Explosion
Published: Cyanide Breathmint Music, BMG Songs inc. ASCAP/Dirty Shirt, BMI

Photos: Christian Lantry and Ali Smith
Design: David Warner and Jon Spencer
Lettering: Take-shit and Akira

BARCODE: 4 988061 871264

MATRIX: “TFCK-87126 1MS1 C 7Y IFPI L221”