S-E-R-V-I-C-E – Drag Me (LP, US)

[unknown] hex

*provisional entry for first forthcoming major release – Artwork shown is NOT final album art. all details unconfirmed. Originally the Acid Over and Over was given as the album release title, then there was a 2017 EP slated for release by Corpse Flower Records and on 30 August 2018 Magnet Magazine posted a news story and new track “Hey” stating that the album was scheduled for a 2019 release”.

07 October 2016: “Jilly working on art for the upcoming first SERVICE vinyl release. Here’s a contender.” – twitter.com/gimmeservice/

“Shit keeps getting cooler! Corpse Flower Records will be putting out the the first-ever S-E-R-V-I-C-E vinyl release! More details coming soon.” – facebook.com/gimmesomeservice/

“I will be releasing the debut EP from SERVICE. no time frame yet, but it’s in the works. songs are recorded. SERVICE is jilly and matt from we are hex and russell from jon spencer blues explosion.” – https://www.facebook.com/corpseflowerrecords

21 November 2016: Postal Recording posted a photo of S-E-R-V-I-C-E “crafting a noise sculpture in the control room tonight”

11 December 2016: S-E-R-V-I-C-E posted a set of photos from the studio titled “SERVICE EP #1”.

23 February 2017: S-E-R-V-I-C-E mentioned on Instagram that music would be released Spring 2017.

10 June 2018: New tracks “Cold Light” (a.k.a. “Won’t Stop Coming”) and “Be Alright” posted on soundcloud.com.

05 August 2018: “S-E-R-V-I-C-E is M-I-X-I-N-G #gimmesomeservice #servicetheband #postpunkthenpunkagain” – @gimmesomeservice

30 August 2018: LP title and new track “Hey” posted by Magnet Magazine:

“Every longtime MAGNET reader should recognize the big, bearded fella in the above photo. Why, yes, on the drums, it’s Mr. Russell Simins, ladies and gentlemen. While on tour with main gig the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion five years ago, Simins met We Are Hex frontwoman Jilly Weiss. They started hanging out, wrote some songs, fell in love, got married and formed a band: S-E-R-V-I-C-E. With multi-instrumentalist Sharlene Birdsong, guitarist Mitch Geisinger and bassist Johnny Zeps, the duo recorded a rockin’ ‘n’ wailin’ debut album called Drag Me, which is out early next year. But you don’t have to wait until then to get serviced by Russell, Jilly and Co. Today we’re bringing you first single “Hey,” a caterwauling assault of a post-punk song that will help you end your bummer summer on a high note. We’re proud to premiere “Hey” right here, right now on magnetmagazine.com. Check it out.” – magnetmagazine.com/


Recorded at Postal Recording, 1144 S Belmont Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46221

[all other details unknown]

Vocals: Jilly Weiss
Drums: Russell Simins
Guitar: Mitch Geisinger
Bass: John Zeps
Keys / Vocals / Guitar: Sharlene Birdsong

Mixed: Russell Simins and Ken Rose


BARCODE: [unknown]

A: [unknown]
B: [unknown]

Comments are closed.